Posted by: kentauros | February 20, 2014

Arrival of the Wave


I remember reading an account several years ago of “waves of children” that were of a high-spiritual nature. Indigos would fall in this category, possibly as the first wave. There were something like seven major waves, each subdivided further into more and more detailed waves of spirits coming to the Earth to help. I’ll link the archived pages if they’re still online (and they are through the Wayback Machine: The Waves of The New Children.)

What this got me to thinking about was how those that identify as Otherkin seemed to have come on the scene as yet another wave. I have read there were some barely organized groups before the advent of the Internet. However, I would guess those were relatively close-knit enclaves, without much in the way of good methods for finding more of their kind. I considered myself relatively connected to the weirder aspect of groups by mail back in the late 80s and into the 90s, partly thanks to people like Rev. Ivan Stang of the Church of the SubGenius, and my involvement in public radio. You make the most interesting friends and contacts in that field.

Even there, I never saw a thing about Otherkin, and the people in contact with Stang really had their ears to the subcultures of mail-order esotericism and other eclectic pursuits. Had those in the Otherkin community back then made any connection to people like Stang I might have had something to push me further into their fold far earlier than what happened. It took the far reaches of the Internet to introduce the term to me, as well as the trolls’ intent on destroying Otherkin.

If those that identified as Otherkin were doing so back in the 80s or 90s, the Internet has been woefully incomplete. I have read just one account of groups that kept in touch through the mail in the 1990s, and that’s as far back as it goes. What’s so interesting about this to me is that would put their births likely in the 1970s or earlier. We do see Otherkin identifying at younger ages now, but I didn’t get that impression from those organizing themselves in the 1990s.

This makes me posit that Otherkin are another of these waves of children. What their overall purpose is in the world, I’m not sure, other than to possibly foment greater acceptance in humanity for that which is foreign to them. In other words, to help people get over their prejudices for that which is unlike themselves, yet not so unlike in truth. We’re all human, no matter what our self-identity, and some humans still have a problem with people identifying as anything but human. And so, we try to help be more inclusive.

Those of my friends in the spiritual communities and connection might consider looking into this if y’all feel so inclined. I haven’t seen the “major” spiritual teachers mention it, or maybe they don’t know the term Otherkin, either. Whatever the case, it would be interesting to see if this comes up in their channelings and such. I am genuinely curious about where we fit in the overall scheme of things.

Leave a Reply

Categories

